Not just a statistic

I’m moved to write with the recent happenings in Nigeria at present. The bombings have taken a nosedive for the worse. There is no bomb occurrence that doesn’t leave at least one person dead. The news say it like its just numbers and not people. The people whose lives are lost are the loved ones of some others. Their fathers, husbands, sons, wives, daughters, mothers and not just a statistic. I have heard people say only one person and if we all knew the magnitude of that one lost life would the goverment take the drastic step and attack this matter with the violence that the boko haramist have decided to attack human lives.

Every human counts! I’m reiterating it because i can imagine the pain i would feel if i had someone close to me that i lost in this ugly event that could be prevented. I don’t want to read weak words of regret and promising talks again. I wish the goverment or people close to it are reading this. I want to say with every ounce in me that this destructive people should be brought to book but will that bring back lost lives? Let’s not allow a repeat of this ugly and painful incidence anymore. Those promises made before election, promises of a secure Nigeria should be implemented.

I’m speaking for those who are too hurt right now to even speak, those who are not speaking anymore because they are tired of speaking and not being heard. I’m speaking as a voice for change in our distressed Nigeria, these wars will not tear us apart because our hearts are torn apart already.

Every day is a promise of great things to come let it not be our calling to untimely and preventable death. Let it not be our calling to destruction and horror. Let it not be a call to fear and bondage. Its a call to a greater life, Nigeria. Let’s live that great life!

God bless Nigeria!

About Nita's Own Little Space.....

I am a blogger. I love to write. It is one of the most beautiful ways that life has given to me to express how i feel, how i see life. A way to confirm my most innermost and deepest feelings and also what seem so shallow. I just love to write, it is more easier than talking!!!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

