A Full Time Job!

Whoever said being a wife and a mother is not a full time job? I thought so myself then but that was then and am so so wrong……

My younger brothers came over to my house a few weeks back and since then its been a mothering job for me. Every day sees me running from the office first to the market especially on days when there is not enough food in the house and i have to rush to the market in order to get things to prepare supper. Its been like that so much that my friend and colleague says i have become a mother overnight. It is no fun most days when i have to stay up in traffic because i would have delayed so much in the market and by the time i finish and am on my way home, there will be so much influx of people returning from work and other businesses and the traffic which i so much hate and avoid would have caught up with me and there’s no running away because “Home i must go!”.

I have talked about the minuses but the pluses far outweigh the minuses. It’s been a bore just being home alone and in my idleness, i find myself doing things i really wished i shouldn’t have done but out of boredom i do like making an unnecessary phone call just because i have enough airtime on my phone or  just sitting idling away till i sleep off and it is such a BORE! Now they make me talk and am continuously shouting and you could even hear me if you tried “You guys have not washed the plates since i left home for work, how could you have both breakfast and lunch and the kitchen sink is stacked high with plates and you are just lying down watching TV………..”

          

After talking and i believe in their minds they feel i am nagging. I’m finally exhausted from the cooking and household chores and when i do sleep on the bed it is not because i am idle and am tired from reading a book or watching a movie but it will be because i am DEAD TIRED! Is this what full time mothers go through? And we have the effrontery to think that why we go to work they idle away their time? It’s all so wrong! Imagine having toddlers in the house aged 2, 4, 6. Do you know how many times you would shout and run after them to drop that knife they are playing with, how many times you have to clean that floor they’ve spilled milk or food on, how may times you have to scream at them to drop articles that could harm them especially when they keep trying to play with running wires connected to the TV, sockets or putting the switch off and on until you spank the hell out of them? By the time you realise it, its already evening and the man of the house is back and if he’s insensitive, he might say “Darling, please leave me alone, i can’t talk right now. I’m dead tired from work. You don’t know how it feels afterall you don’t work so you don’t understand”.

He would never know, he would never understand except you were both to switch places even for just a day only then will he realise that being a mom is a full time job!

The blessings are more than the pain and the memories we forever remain in your heart through life. It’s bittersweet as they say but its worth it! Kudos to all full time moms! You rock!

About Nita's Own Little Space.....

I am a blogger. I love to write. It is one of the most beautiful ways that life has given to me to express how i feel, how i see life. A way to confirm my most innermost and deepest feelings and also what seem so shallow. I just love to write, it is more easier than talking!!!
This entry was posted in Life and Living, Relationships and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Full Time Job!

  1. Im not a mother, I’m a aunt and i know for a fact its a fulltime job. I know its get hectic but you going to make it. Just hold on and breathe a little. I wonder about my mother sometimes and I know she does a lot for her a family. God Bless U:)

Leave a Reply

