I chose to be happy

                             

I chose to be happy despite all odds, I chose to be happy even when things are ‘not – so smiling’. I make that decision even when things are hard,difficult and pressing. Things have not been very pleasant in recent times, it’s been from one struggle to another and this has been very challenging but how i manage to smile and still be happy in the face of odds is the mindset i decide to wear in all of it. Yesterday, i met my cousin online and we got chatting and he said to me that am so happy anytime he meets me, am always excited about something and then i smiled and said to him “i chose to be happy”.

We are the ones who have the power to make this decision by ourselves and this is what i tell myself on days when it seems my legs cannot carry me anymore and days when it looks so bleak and depressing but then there is this guy on radio who is multi- talented and just makes me laugh  off da hook as i drive down to work and in that fifteen minutes that it takes me to get to work you see me laughing off and i do get some starry eyed looks as i drive by but i guess they should be used to seeing me like that now as my glass is always wound down.

I am not feeling so happy and then i remember he’s on radio and i just tune to him and before you know it am already laughing and happy that’s why my radio is permanently tuned to 97.7 Fm.

Look for that which makes you happy, that which livens your spirit up on days when it seems like the world is coming to an end on your head. Look on the bright side, speak to yourself powerful words that can see beyond that cloud, do that which is exciting, get out of that shell of depression to see the life, more like invite the light and life in and it will come to you.

I’ve recently been gaining extra weight that seem difficult to move on. I have sat down to think about what i can do to pull off the weight without it looking like too much of a big deal to me and then i remembered i love dancing and now i spend 20 minutes dancing to songs i like, jogging, walking as the music plays on. I have done it consistently for two weeks and i have lost 2kg (just checked it today). I am using that which i love doing to my own advantage (I’m staying in shape).

I chose to stay happy and stop bogging my life on a relationship that’s not working instead of making myself go through pain and wondering when he will call or not, if he would reply to a ping or message, and then get my hopes crushed (more like get my heart broken) when he doesn’t.

I chose to be happy and do that which pleases me to stay alive, healthy and happy. Have you made that decision for yourself today?

About Nita's Own Little Space.....

I am a blogger. I love to write. It is one of the most beautiful ways that life has given to me to express how i feel, how i see life. A way to confirm my most innermost and deepest feelings and also what seem so shallow. I just love to write, it is more easier than talking!!!
This entry was posted in Life and Living. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to I chose to be happy

  1. willofheart says:

    I love the positive energy you shared from this post , you’re right being happy and contented to what we have helps us to achieve happiness in the real meaning of the word.

  2. granbee says:

    You are awesome, Nita! Thanks so much for dropping into my blog recently. You are totally correct: happiness is very much a choice. I am reminded of the zen tale of the monk who was robbed of everything in his cave, even the robe off his back. Then he sat gazing at the moon naked, smiling and thinking, “I wish I could have given that thief the moon.” This is a happiness choice. So great you found physical fitness in dancing and music!

  3. Agree. We can all choose to be happy, sad, angry, etc. Making that choice and sticking to it is very, very difficult for some people. It is made even worse when you suffer from depression and lack the family or friend support that you need to be strong.

    So, well done Nita on your ability to find the shining light in the darkness. Cliche I know but that’s an easy way to explain what you are blogging about. Nobody can force us to anything we don’t want to do. We choose to do it, because it makes sense to us. Great post.

  4. Okafor Emeka says:

    Well said Nita! I also believe that our health is directly proportional to how happy we are. The happier we are, the better for us. Happy new week 🙂

  5. reneeboomer says:

    Just loved reading, “I Chose to be Happy”. Beautiful!! Have a good day..

  6. psychevida says:

    We can always choose our approach to the world, but remember to offer yourself grace for the times when it is not so easy!

    Much strength and gentleness to you today!

  7. My friend, I share your joy and passion when you said, “I chose to be happy despite all odds, I chose to be happy even when things are ‘not – so smiling’. I make that decision even when things are hard,difficult and pressing. ” Despite of life’s trials, like you I chose to be happy…to live life to the fullest. Life is short and we need to savor every moment, every memory, every chance of joy and love. Happy Valentine’s Day and best wishes…

  8. Maiya says:

    Thank you for this…so much. 🙂

  9. hehehe, friends and people I know ask me all the time, what I’m doing to be happy always, and I say ”I chose to be happy”. Is great that I foud your blog, I love it!

Leave a Reply

