What would you want your dash (-) to comprise of?

I had earlier read an article in my much younger days or should i say sometime back written by Patricia Omoqui on something similar to the theme of this article but then i didn’t put it into deep thought or consideration as at then but in view of the recent happenings and then an article i read yeterday from Temiville ( A tribute) on one of the very young people who passed away on the recent plane crash. I’m tempted to want to throw some light on this issue again. What would you want your dash to comprise of?
If you do not get what i mean, i am ready to throw more light on the issue.
When a man dies what you normally see on the banner or poster is 1940-2012. That is the period for which he lived for and the (-) in between the years is the life that he lived, his activities, his achievements, his lowtimes, his rising, his falling, his handwork…….you name it! His life! It cannot be summed up in a book even if it were his biography but the highlights like that of a  football match has is what we will get to read, see and be told.
When i think about what my dash would comprise of, i see myself falling short of that which it ought to be. I want to make an impact in the lives of those around me as much as possible, make their lives improve for the better and not just by giving ‘physical’ cash but also by enriching their lives and been a blessing to them and that is why you will hear me say this prayer “Bless me Lord, so i can be a blessing to others!” And as the lord God makes good his promise let me not be quick to forget. Quick to forget that those “blessings” are not mine alone but also for the good of the community in which i live, for the good of the people around me, to touch their lives, to bless their lives in whatever positive way.

I know my goals and my dreams, my pursuits and my quest and i also want to see them fit into that dash adequately representing me. Let that school i build for kids stand as a monument after i am gone that in my lifetime people could gain quality education from a school i built, let the blogs i write be an impact on someone’s dull day and make it come alive when all seem hopeless (like some days are), let the beauty of my smile, the warmth of my hug, bring a “warmness” to the otherwise frozen moment of someone’s existence.

That i do not just come into this world and walk by without leaving my prints however small on the sands of time and though my name not be sung as one of our great heroes past, even if it be just one person we have a cause to smile and read my eulogy not out of ceremony but in complete truth.

Now that i know what i want my ‘dash’ to comprise of even though not fully achieved, what would you want yours to read? Think about it…..

About Nita's Own Little Space.....

I am a blogger. I love to write. It is one of the most beautiful ways that life has given to me to express how i feel, how i see life. A way to confirm my most innermost and deepest feelings and also what seem so shallow. I just love to write, it is more easier than talking!!!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

